Home > Blog Tours > My Interview with J F Hilborne

My Interview with J F Hilborne


Where there any characters in your book that were based on the people in your life?

Yes, several characters in my book were based on real life people, some from my present and some from my past. I fictionalized real aspects of life, things that really happened, and of course I changed things just enough so they won’t completely recognize themselves.

What was the hardest part, in your eyes, to getting your book written and published?

Dealing with the rejections is one of the hardest parts of getting a book published. They seem endless and it’s tough when you reach the mammoth milestone of actually finishing your book to find no one wants to even look at it. Writing is was not hard. The story came easily because many components are based on actual events.

How did you come up with the story for Madness and Murder?

Parts of this book sat in my head for a long time, waiting for me to do something with them. Several years ago, a former English professor suggested I try to get my work published. Fear held me back until I read a novel by one of my favorite authors and realized I could do it. I set to work on my manuscript the day I finished reading that novel. As I worked on Madness and Murder, other ideas and characters arrived and wove their way into my main plot.

What was your favorite book of all time?  Did it have any effect on your novel in any way?

I don’t have a favorite book and I’ve never read any particular book more than once. I do tend to stick with mysteries and thrillers as I enjoy them the most. I rarely read autobiographies, however I enjoy memoirs if they are well written. The books I read do have an effect on my novel in the way they get my mind working again when I hit a block. A good read is a great way to get back on track.

Have you ever wanted to write another genre of books, or are you happy with the Murder and Mystery aspect?

I would love to have a stab (see – can’t get my mind of murders) at another genre. I’m a little eclectic in my personality (others call it ADD, I like to think of it as eclectic) however, I’m best at mysteries. I must have a dark side. I’m drawn to mysteries and thrillers. I do not choose them. They choose me.

Murder Mysteries seem like they would be difficult to write, just from the sheer amount of information you would have to keep straight in your head pertinent to your story.  Did you find it difficult?

Any well-written book probably involved a ton of research. Madness and Murder was no exception. I’m fortunate to know a police deputy who provided many answers for me. I keep a folder for each book I write with a bio for each character so I can keep track. For me, the hardest part of writing a mystery is unraveling the twists I create. I don’t always know the ending when I start so I have to figure out ‘whodunnit’ for myself, just like my readers. Doing something you love is so rewarding, no matter how difficult. I love writing and I love mysteries.

Balancing a full-time job and a writing career is difficult.  How long did it take you to find that balance?  Are you more comfortable now that your first novel is out of the way?

Great question. I am still finding the balance. I would love to work full time as a writer – maybe I will. It’s my goal. With the release of Madness and Murder, I got less comfortable and busier than ever. Once published, I would say the novel is never out of the way due to the volume of marketing required and building a relationship with my readers. I need to be quite the juggler to balance it all and pump out future novels.

If you could go back and change anything in Madness and Murder, what would it be?

There is one thing, but I can’t tell you. I’m hoping no one will notice!

Are you currently working on any other projects or a sequel perhaps?

Without writing I think I would go insane. I’m always working on something. Jackson, my detective from Madness and Murder, will be back to solve another case in my third novel (a work-in-progress), Hide and Seek.

How soon could your readers expect anything new?

No Alibi is my second suspense novel, set in San Francisco, featuring a brand new detective battling his own personal betrayal while solving a murder. No Alibi is set to be published by Echelon Press in 2011.

Click to Purchase from Amazon

Click to buy from Omnilit

  1. August 3, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Hi Jenny! I loved your book Madness and Murder! Can’t wait for your next release!
    Do you hope or plan to have any of your books published in print in the future?
    I am also curious which of the many kinds of marketing have you found to produce the best results?

    • August 3, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      Good questions. I’ve had many requests for the paperback version and am pleased to say it will be made available sometime soon . The great thing about the ebook is the fact it offers readers a choice, and I’ve had great response from Kindle users. It’s also still at #1 on omnilit. Regards marketing, I have used Twitter, Facebook and blogs shamelessly . I would say the most effective marketing strategy is to network and do it constantly. If people know abuot your book and care about you, they will buy it and pass on the good word. Of course, I give back and do the same for my fellow authors. I also attend as many writers conferences as I can.

  2. August 3, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    Well, I’d just like to say thank you for agreeing to the interview. Amazing writers are hard to come by and harder to get interviewed! Thanks again!

  3. authorguy
    August 12, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    “There is one thing, but I can’t tell you. I’m hoping no one will notice!”

    Now I have to get it and go looking! Mwa-ha-ha!

    • August 14, 2010 at 9:13 pm

      HAHAHA, authorguy. My ploy worked!! Actually…..truth be told, there is one thing I’d change if I could, but I’ll leave it a mystery. If you find it, let me know!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

