Home > Blog Tours > My Interview with Heather Ingemar

My Interview with Heather Ingemar


Greetings all.  I have the honor of hosting Heather Ingemar on my blog this morning.  This is one of her stops on her Spooky Times Blog Tour and I’m honored to have her here.  Very rarely do you meet people who just shock you with how intelligent they are in their writing, how creative they are in everything they do, and how humble they are to talk to.  Heather is all of those things and more.  I’ve asked her a few questions to help you get into her mind.  I sincerely hope if I left anything out, you will ask her more.  Enjoy!

As a professional writer, do you set goals each day for how much you are going to write?

Nope. I’m a farmer’s wife in addition to my day-job, and being a farmer’s wife means you can’t plan for squat. I’ve come home to anything from fence needing to be fixed to having hypothermic calves in my living room being warmed up. You just never know. I satisfy myself by writing whenever I can fit it in, be it for five minutes or five hours. I can’t do much else.

What do you do when you get writer’s block?  What advice would you give people who have it?

First of all, I don’t believe in writer’s block, because there’s always *something* you can put on that paper. It may not be the RIGHT thing, but it’s something. When I find the words have a hard time coming, I take a break, go get something to eat, or go for a walk. When the words stop ‘fitting,’ it’s a sign that my brain is tired. So I let it rest, then come back to it. The worst thing you can do is stress about not writing — it makes everything tense up.

What are the two or three most valuable practical editing/revising tips you would give writers?

Wow, I don’t know if I can limit/separate them out! It’s important to learn to take criticism (read: constructive critique), you need to be picky with your grammar, and you need to have a trusted individual who can tell you when that character you put in scene five is unnecessary. And you need to be able to differentiate between the essential parts of your story and the parts you can cut. You can’t get too attached to things: you have to be able to “kill your favorites,” as they say.

You write both short stories and novels, do you have a preference or write for what the market is looking for?

(I actually have never written a novel. A novella is another form of short story.)

I write what I want to read. No more and no less.

How would you describe your work? Does it vary between projects?

Oh, boy does it! I’ve run the gamut from romance to horror, and most things in between. Mostly, my stories tend toward the dark, the spooky, the gothic. They’re often heavy on supernatural elements, because I’ve always been fascinated by fantasy.

You write the dark and spooky. What were you afraid of when you were a child? What is your greatest fear now?

When I was a child, it was Darth Vader. (laughs) I had this lamp by my bed, and in the evening it would cast shadows that looked like his helmet. I had pretty frequent nightmares about that until I saw the last movie where he turns good at the very end. Then I felt more sad for him than anything else.


My greatest fear now is losing those closest to me. I am the type of person who doesn’t forge attachments often or easily, but when I do, they’re strong as nails. Being parted, having to say goodbye… I hate it.

You are also a folk musician, does this influence your writing?

I think a lot of the themes in old folklore carry over. Certainly being a musician has affected my writing style — I tend to be very ‘sound conscious’ when crafting my sentences. If it doesn’t sound ‘nice,’ it gets changed.

What project are you currently working on? Can you tell us about it or is it a deep dark secret?

(laughs) No, no deep, dark secrets! I’m working on another piece in my ‘demonic’ series — the first story in the series is “Crown of Thorns” and it has been contracted with Drollerie Press — and after that I am planning on revising a novella that’s been on the back burner for quite a long time. IF another idea doesn’t pop in and demand to be written… I have an ‘in progress’ page on my website: http://ingemarwrites.wordpress.com/biblio/in-progress/

Which of the stories you have written is your favorite and why? Do you have any untold tales lurking about in your mind but haven’t had a chance to write?

I try not to play favorites, though I think the current project is always the one I’m most excited about.


I have lots of ideas floating around in my head that haven’t had the opportunity to develop into stories, they’re just snippets or pieces of other things. When they percolate enough they become a narrative, that’s when I begin writing.

You are also a public speaker. Do you find this very rewarding? What topics do you speak about?

I don’t know that I’d call me a “public speaker” in the grand tones denoting someone who does it for a living, haha. I do DO public speaking, both as part of my day-job and as a writer and as a musician, however. I don’t mind being up in front of a crowd. What I like best is talking to young writers, usually teenagers, about the craft.

If you could be any type of fantastical creature, what would you be?

Does a Nazgul count as a fantastical creature? If so, I call dibs on being the Witchking of Angmar. (It’s all about the pointy helmet.)


http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B003UPRLQ8
http://books.barnesandnoble.com/search/results.aspx?ATH=Heather+S.+Ingemar
http://www.fictionwise.com/eBooks/HeatherSIngemareBooks.htm

  1. October 11, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Thank you for hosting me, Sean! 🙂 It has been a pleasure.

    • October 11, 2010 at 3:44 pm

      Glad to have you Heather!

  2. unabridgedgirl
    October 11, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Darth Vader? I totally just learned something new about you, Heather. 🙂

    • October 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      🙂 Yeah, I was a little scaredy cat back in the day…

  3. October 11, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Cool interview, especially the things that freak you out. My sister owns a bust of Frankenstein, which creeps me out more than anything. I can’t sleep in the same room with it unless it’s covered up.

    • October 12, 2010 at 5:02 pm

      Hee! It’s interesting looking at the things which terrify us in the cold light of day. I was laughing when I was telling you all about my childhood fear of Vader, but when I was seven and eight? My goodness!

  4. October 11, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Wonderful interview heather and sean!! Now I need to look up what a Nazgul is….

    • October 11, 2010 at 5:18 pm

      Gasp! Hast thou not readest the lord of the rings? Shame on thee!

    • October 12, 2010 at 5:00 pm

      *gasp!*

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

