Home > Blog Tours > My Interview with Norm Cowie

My Interview with Norm Cowie


Just want to say, “Dude you crack me up.”  With that out of the way I have to ask, could you imagine writing anything without an element of humor in it?

 

Yep, gotta crack people up.   I treat each reader like an egg I want to break.  If I can scramble some brains, poach some feelings or egg the reader on any other way, I’m going to do it.  As far as writing without humor, I have to admit it’s a challenge not to slide down the sophomoric slope of immaturity and humor.

 

 

To date, what work of yours brought you the most satisfaction in seeing it to completion?

 

I think my second book, THE NEXT ADVENTURES OF GUY.  Wring(s/b Writing)  this was satisfying because as a sequel, I could skip the boring stuff where I’m introducing characters and romp right on into the story.  This one actually starts with the characters running in a graveyard.

 

 

What possessed you, I mean inspired you, to write a book for young adults?

 

Well, there was this kid ghost who spoke to me during a séance and … well, okay, not really.  What really happened was a librarian came up to me at a writer’s conference and told me teens were reading my Adventures of Guy series.  When I heard that, a light bulb went on over my head, dropped on my noggin and broke, sending tiny shards of glass all over my shoulders. And I decided I had to give it a try.

 

 

On the same topic, I was introduced to Fang Face on your website and I’ve added that to my “MUST READ” list.  Was writing to a younger audience difficult?

 

Besides getting in touch with my inner child, there are certain challenges to writing Fang Face that I didn’t face with my adult books.  Mostly, how to walk the fine line where it’s realistic enough for the kids, while not crossing lines that I didn’t want to cross.  There’s no sex or cussing in Fang Face, and that’s just not true in a kid’s life. I mean, think about all of the cussing and orgies going on in today’s schools.

I can’t tell you how pleased I am that you agreed to this interview.  Now that I have you here, what would be the BEST advice you could give to aspiring writers?

 

Don’t.  Bore.  The.  Reader.    By that, I mean, don’t spend a long time setting up scenes so the reader can see something exactly the way you picture it.  Let their imagination fill in some of the blanks.  I can’t tell you how many times I stopped reading a book because the author spent too much time laboriously explaining scenes.

 

 

I see you’re working on a new book, WEREWOOF.  Would you care to share with everyone a little about what to expect?  Any idea when we might expect it on the shelves?

 

It’s done.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do with it yet.  In the meantime, I’m working on my next one (see below).

 

 

Some authors are born into the craft, others are introduced, but I’ve never met an author who would give up writing because they love it so much.  How important is your craft to you?  If you could do anything else besides being an author what would it be?

 

Oh, without a doubt, I would want to be the guy who cleans up after parties at Chuckie Cheese.  Imagine all of the fun things you can find in the play section. Diapers, food, spilled drinks, barf.  How fun.

 

Being a father of two children myself, I plan to incorporate them at some point in my novels as characters, probably evil ones bent on the destruction of the earth and refusing to clean their lairs.  Have your children ever had roles in any of your work?

 

Yeah, kids are like that, aren’t they.  My younger daughter Lauren is my official ‘bounce-offer.’  I bounce ideas off her, and discuss possible plot turns and things.  She’s a freshman in college, and really in tune with what’s fun and popular. As far as characters, both of my daughters claim they were the inspiration for the sisters in Fang Face.  I tell them not. They tell me yes, I tell them no.  They disagree.  It’s an ongoing argument.

 

 

I ask this question of everyone I interview because I love to see the diversity of the answers presented.  Form the moment you started writing until the moment you held your completed first work in you r hand, what leg of the journey was the most difficult to overcome or get through?

 

My left leg, ever since I messed up my knee. But I’ve been icing it, taking anti-inflammatories and babying it, so  it’s getting better now.  It’ll be okay.

 

What’s next for Norm Cowie?  After you complete WEREWOOF, do you have another story rattling around in your head that you can’t wait to get down on paper?

 

I’m about two thirds done writing the third Adventures of Guy.  In this one, my college characters are angry about the price of oil, so they decide to take on Big Oil in its headquarters, which they find is in Hell. When they get there, they are shocked to find out that George Bush and Dick Cheney have taken over Hell, torturing Satan with an unending colonoscopy – meanwhile, the terrorists are wandering around going, ‘Where are the virgins? We were promised virgins.’  The guy from Verizon is down there, too, saying, “Can you hear me now? Can you hear me now?”  Meanwhile, Sarah Palin can see them from her back yard.    Yep, more wackiness.

All of this can be seen on my website www.normcowie.com

My Amazon page

http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=norm+cowie&tag=googhydr-20&index=stripbooks&hvadid=1155441161&ref=pd_sl_7pl76ao3rl_b

My blog  http://fangplace.blogspot.com

My Twitter http://twitter.com/normcowie

  1. November 10, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Funny, especially the last comment.

  2. November 18, 2010 at 12:22 am

    Great interview. Under the last question, “What’s next for Norm Cowie?” I loved his description of hell. Very funny! LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

