Home > Blog Tours > My Interview with The Rainbow Queen-Jen Wylie

My Interview with The Rainbow Queen-Jen Wylie


Happy Tuesday everyone.  I have the distinct honor of having the nicest person you’ll ever meet as my guest for an interview.  She lives in the frigid wastelands of Canada, hates snow, and writes some of the best stories you’ll ever read.  Her name is Jen Wylie.  Please feel free to stop by and ask a multitude of questions.  I’m sure she’d be happy to answer!

 

Rarely have I seen an author with the variety you seem to encompass with your works.  Where does your inspiration come from? Where will it take you next?

My inspiration comes from everything, everywhere. However I will admit music plays a huge roll. I get so many ideas when I listen to songs, a single phrase, or the emotions a song will invoke can jump start a whole new world in my mind. Mostly, I think I just have an overactive imagination. 🙂

I know you wrote Sweet Light years ago as well as its subsequent sequel.  Did you ever think you’d see the day when you found it published?
Back when I was writing it, no. I will admit I occasionally thought ‘It would be cool if I got this published.” However I was more interested in writing than looking into that. Eventually my parents gave me a bit a push and away I went. It wasn’t I didn’t think the story was good enough, I just knew it would be a lot a work finding someone to read it in the publishing world. I’d often read about my favorite authors and their journeys to get published, so knew it wasn’t something easy to do. I wasn’t wrong there. 🙂 I have a tendency not to give up once I have my mind set on something though. I did have some help from a friend to give my butt a kick now and then too. I certainly wouldn’t be here otherwise. 🙂
I am positively enamored with your Echo stories.  Where did you come up with the idea and what can we expect in the future from this line?

The original idea came from a line from a song and then just grew as I wrote it. The line was “I will always be here, for the rest of my life.” Which created in my mind the Echoes, who are bound to their Immortals forever. They can not leave. They can’t even die and pass on, only be utterly destroyed. Different Echoes handle this in different ways.

I’ve written two short stories in the Immortal Echoes world so far. I recently started a book as well. I have the general idea in my head, and the first chapter written. Now I just need to sort out a few more things as I write.

Stay home mom, is synonymous with superwoman.   Where do you find the time to balance your home life with being an author and editor?

I think a lot while I clean. Sweeping and doing dishes doesn’t require a lot of brainpower. Mostly I write in the evenings, since that is what I have gotten used to, even though this year both boys are now in school full time. Daytime I clean and putter at some writing and work on reading and editing jobs. I’ve learned to write in little spurts when I can, and also to just write whatever comes into my head. I might write chapter 5 before chapter 3. Whatever works. I usually have very little trouble connecting everything up eventually.

I often ask this question to the authors I interview.  From the time you started writing, to the time you became published, what was the most rewarding leg of your journey?  What was the most difficult?

The most rewarding was of course having someone actually READ my work. I spend over a year just sending out queries and collecting rejections. These didn’t bother me overly much, none of the the agents had read my work after all.

The most difficult part is the WAITING to hear back. It still is. I’m not a very patient person at the best of times. (All patience goes to dealing with the kids LOL) I am starting to get used to it though. Mostly. 🙂

Reader’s like to be tantalized with what’s coming next.  What is coming next from Jennifer Wylie?

I just finished my first young adult novel, Broken Aro. I’ll be submitting it soon. Right now I’m working on it’s sequel, the Echo book, and also editing the sequel to Sweet Light. I have a few short stories on the go too. I’m a bit of a multi-tasker. 🙂

Of all the stories and novels you’ve written. which is your favorite and why?

That’s a hard one. I love all the many (many) books I’ve written in the world of Sweet Light. I’ve been writing them for almost a decade, they have become a part of me. However I also love my new YA, maybe because it’s new? I’ve also learned SO much in the last six months on HOW to write, I think it turned out pretty darn awesome. 🙂 (Plus it has Fey and Elves in it, and I love them!)

You’re the acquisitions editor for Echelon Press’ Explorations line.  Do you enjoy your work?  What’s your favorite part?

I love it!!! It’s like a dream job. 🙂 It’s hard to say what my favorite part is. I love all the technical aspects of marketing and the keeping up the website etc. (yes I’m weird) but interacting, helping and encouraging the authors is such a wonderful experience. Sometimes I think I get more excited than they do when things are going well. Getting to read a lot of awesome books certainly doesn’t hurt either. 😀

Many people write just for the thrill of it.  Inspiration for being an author can come from anywhere.  What’s yours?  Why do you write?

Why? I have to write. I think I’d go crazy (crazier) if I didn’t. I can’t do anything without stories rambling around in my head. Most nights I lie awake with scenes playing before my eyes. I find if I get them typed out, they leave me alone. 🙂 I have huge files of story ideas and partials just because of that. I love writing, I love the stories my mind creates. I hope everyone else will as well. 🙂

Could you give us a brief outline of what books and short stories are coming out from you, when we can expect them?

Yes I can!

Jump (ebook short story) Released December 15 2010

If you were told to jump off of a bridge would you? Perhaps it would depend on who was doing the asking. Our heroine has spunk and a sense of humor, however suffers from an extreme case of inappropriate clothing. When things take a turn from dangerous to worse what will she do when fantasy becomes reality? Warning: May include hot leather clad men, singing and demons.

 

The Forgotten Echo (ebook short story) Released March 1 2011

Sometimes death is only the beginning…

After a bad day Cassy is surprised to find her self shot, an innocent bystander in a drive by shooting. Bleeding to death in an empty parking lot she knows she is going die. What she doesn’t expect is the arrival of a strange, yet gorgeous, man who tells her he can keep her from passing on in return for being his forever. In desperation she agrees but afterwards she is beyond dismayed to discover she has died. To make matters worse the stranger has disappeared. Her spirit wanders, afraid and alone until she meets another like her and she discovers she not a ghost at all but something much more.

Sweet Light (novel) Released May 2011

When fate conspires against you and gives you three loves to choose from, what do you do?  When you do decide, what if you made the wrong choice?

Shara is a Healer, raised and trained from childhood until her unique gift manifests itself. When she gains the rank Journeyman she is hired to serve as the court healer of the barbaric kingdom of Glendor.

Untrained for war she is thrust unmercifully into its bloody arms when the kingdom is invaded. Ordered by her king to the front lines to tend the wounded, she is forced to flee when their camp is attacked.  Happening upon a wounded soldier in the forest, every mile back to the capital is a struggle, and breaking the Healer’s code, she falls in love with her charge.

If Shara thought that to be the least of her troubles, the appearance of a fierce warrior captain who takes it upon himself to be her protector teaches her differently.  Trouble comes in threes at the appearance of her former love and fellow healer.  Faced with decisions of the heart and the sudden manifestation of her gift leave little room for anything else to go wrong.  Or at least that’s what Shara thought...


Author Bio

Jennifer Wylie was born and raised in Ontario, Canada. In a cosmic twist of fate she dislikes the snow and cold.

Before settling down to raise a family, she attained a BA from Queens University and worked in retail and sales.

Thanks to her mother she acquired a love of books at an early age and began writing in public school. She constantly has stories floating around in her head, and finds it amazing most people don’t. Jennifer writes various forms of fantasy, both novels and short stories. Sweet light is her debut novel to be published in 2011.

Jennifer resides in rural Ontario, Canada with her husband, two boys, Australian shepherd a flock of birds and a disagreeable amount of wildlife.

Jennifer’s Website: www.jenniferwylie.ca

Jennifer’s Blog: http://jlwylie.wordpress.com/

You can also follow her on Twitter!

You can also “Like” her on Facebook!

  1. December 7, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Thanks so much for having me Sean!
    As always, you rock! 😀

    • December 7, 2010 at 9:08 am

      The pleasure was all mine my friend.

  2. December 7, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Love this interview! And stay at home mom as superwoman LOL this is so true! =D Couldn’t be happier for you Jen! And I can’t wait to read the new story =) Great job guys!

    • December 7, 2010 at 10:45 am

      Thanks so much for stopping by Trish!!!
      Yup, us supermoms need a cape or something… maybe some flashy boots… 😀

    • December 7, 2010 at 1:30 pm

      Hi Trish! Thanks for poppin by and sayin Hi!

  3. Anita Wakeham
    December 7, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    It is interesting to know what inspires your stories Jen, and how they come about. I shall look out for your books and look forward to reading them.

    All the best.

    Anita.

    • December 7, 2010 at 1:29 pm

      Thanks for stopping by, Anita!

    • December 7, 2010 at 1:30 pm

      Thanks so much Anita!! 😀

  4. December 7, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Great interview! Makes me want to sit down at a table with Jen and swap shop-talk. 🙂

    • December 7, 2010 at 4:03 pm

      I would love to one day Marian! 🙂

  5. December 8, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Thanks to everyone stopping by! 😀

  6. December 9, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    A little late to the party, sorry 🙂 Jen I’m looking forward to reading your stories. They all sound very interesting!

    Julie

    • December 9, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      Thanks so much!! 😀

  1. January 2, 2011 at 8:12 am

Leave a Reply

