Home > Uncategorized > Damn them! I fell for it again!

Damn them! I fell for it again!


 

So yesterday. I blatantly joked about being addicted to those obnoxious amazon sales rankings. Guess what? If that weren’t bad enough Amazon got me again! How you ask? LISTS! Let me give you a little background info on a project I’m working on:

You see, my publisher, Echelon Press is run by this magnofantastico (brownie points) lady named Karen Syed. She is many things. Brilliant (more brownie points)  is foremost on my frontal cortex. You see, she understands that kids NEED to read. Some of them don’t like to. Others have the attention span of a gnat (this is the category mine fall under, they get that and their stunning good looks from their father). So anyway, Karen came up with an idea. One day she said, “How can I get these kids who all got eReaders from their parents at Christmas, interested in reading?” (Told ya, she’s brilliant).

Then inspiration struck her! She came up with the ELECTRIC SHORTS program. Basically she found a bunch of authors to commit to writing 1 short story per month for 6 months. These stories are designed to enrapture young readers who don’t like to read. They’re fast paced, edgy, and don’t have boring character descriptions. I was one of the authors selected.

She asked me to write the series as steampunk. Great, that I can do. I loves me some steampunk. The problem? I have never written anything YA in my career! BUT! Lo and behold, I have a brilliant gifted 11 year old son. I’ll ask him to HELP ME!. And so for the first time in my career, I have a co-author. My son, Connor.

So what does this have to do with being addicted t Amazon Sales Rankings? How did the evil Amazonian Empire ensnare me in yet another of its diabolical traps? That’s easy. They have lists. Apparently when you sell enough of your books, you get on these lists of books like yours. The problem? YOU DON’T STAY ON THEM LONG IF YOU DON’T KEEP SELLING! GRRRRRRRRRRR! Evil bastards. Ever since I got on these lists it’s worse than sales ranks! Check, promo, sell, check, promo, sell. It’s a never ending vicious cirlce!

Well, I’d keep writing and give you more details but I have to go to amazon.com and check my sales ranking and my list status.

So please, HELP ME STAY ON THESE LISTS! BUY FIRST FLIGHT NOW!

    Categories: Uncategorized
    1. April 8, 2011 at 1:52 pm

      It is kinda like having to keep checking on twitter, FB etc. to see who commented to you this time! Hmmmmm?

    2. April 8, 2011 at 6:58 pm

      Already bought it…of course!

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Leave a Reply

