Home > Uncategorized > Guest Post-The Miraculous Chris Redding!

Guest Post-The Miraculous Chris Redding!


 

 

 

Why I wrote a View to a Kilt.

 

 

 

When Sean offered to host me he asked me an interesting question. What was my inspiration for A View to a Kilt?

 

 

 

The inspiration for the title is obvious. I’m a James Bond fan. There have been 22 Bond films made and I believe number 23 is being filmed now. Six actors have played James Bond. My favorite is Sean Connery. I don’t have a favorite movie, but I do have a favorite line from Goldfinger. “Do you expect me to talk?” “No, Mr Bond, I expect you to die.”

 

 

 

The storyline to A View to a Kilt: An interior decorator with a secret holds the key to the murder of an FBI agent’s wife. I hope that sounds thrilling!

 

I have two friends that are interior decorators and I originally thought about how much access they have to other people’s houses. The story didn’t end up going into that aspect. Her profession is part of her internal conflict not the bigger story.

 

 

 

I made the hero, Angus Macpherson, Scottish because I knew so many Scottish jokes. Daria tells a lot of jokes. I like that about her because a lot of women just don’t have the timing to do it right. Why Macpherson, because at the time my car needed struts. Macpherson is a maker of struts. Yes, that’s how my mind works.

 

 

 

WhyPhiladelphiaas the setting? Because I grew up in the suburbs ofPhiladelphia. I love the city. I wish I could go there more often. I know it fairly well, at least enough to make it believable. When I began the story, I though about all the landmarks that I could use. Once again, the plot didn’t go in that direction.

 

 

 

Now you’ve heard my inspiration for A View to a Kilt.

 

 

 

Exerpt:

 

Waking up next to a dead guy can ruin your whole day.

 

At least interior decorator Miriam Stokes’ thought so.

 

The Philadelphia Police Detective whose name she couldn’t remember talked soothingly to her, making her feel, not better, but at least calmer.

 

As calm as anyone could feel after finding a dead body. How did she get herself into these things?

 

Sipping coffee Miriam didn’t remember asking for, she eyed the cop as they sat in a flowered living room. Her friend Joe’s neighbor owned said living room. The friend she just found dead.

 

She tried to keep eye contact with Detective. . .Dasher, Dancer? Some reindeer name.

 

She could see him clearly now, her vision returning to normal.

 

“So you woke up and he was dead.  Didn’t you hear a shot?”

 

After swallowing the scalding liquid, she answered him. “No detective. I do sleep very soundly, but I think I had help from this bump on the side of my head.”

 

Chris Redding lives inNew Jerseywith her husband, two kids, one dog and three rabbits. She graduated fromPennStatewith a degree in Journalism. When she isn’t writing she works part time for her local hospital.

 

 

 

You can find Chris on the web:

 

www.chrisreddingauthor.com

 

http://chrisredddingauthor.blogspot.com

 

www.facebook.com/chrisreddingauthor

 

http://www.twitter.com/chrisredding

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

