Home > Uncategorized > Guest Blog with JULIE CAMPBELL

Guest Blog with JULIE CAMPBELL


Thanks for having me on your blog today!

The Journey – Part 3

It begins, sometimes with an idea, sometimes with a word or a phrase, or a flash of a beautiful smile. It sets out with a letter on a page. Just one, single, solitary letter. Then another letter, and another until there is a word. Then many words, then paragraphs that lead to pages and chapters then finally to a completed story.

But that’s just the beginning of the Journey.

As part of my blog tour to celebrate the release of my first Young Adult novel, Senior Year Bites, I’m going to do a series on my perceptions of the adventure of writing a novel. Obviously there are many different ways to get inspiration and write a novel. It has happened to me in many different ways. This is just one way. Here’s part three. If you’d like to read other blog posts in this series, links are on my blog tour page: http://writerjacampbell.wordpress.com/book-tours/

The shiny-new phase is starting to fade as Kira continues to put words on her screen. She’s in the 20,000 word range now and she has to decide if this novel idea has the staying power it needs to go the whole distance. She also needs to decide if she has the fortitude to carry this novel through to the end. She is just getting to the tough phase. The dreaded middle.

The middle is hard for Kira. She has to continue to build the storyline, throw in background, feed the reader enough information to keep them informed. She also has to keep the action going to keep the reader interested. The action has to be meaningful to the plot, not just there for actions sake. Can she turn a boring scene where a couple of characters talk and reveal important information into something more interesting? Maybe a fight scene, or a car chase, or even a search through library archives.

She starts to worry if her ideas are good or if the plot twist she through in is going to derail her entire novel. Maybe that encounter that seemed so important and she spent so much time on will have to be cut later. Can she do it?

Determined to see this idea through to the end, she pushes her way into the middle of the book.

What do you guys do to get through the middle of the book? Or is the middle even hard for you? If it’s not, I hate you. LOL. (Not really, more like I’m jealous.)

Author Bio:

Julie writes fantasy novels. When she’s not out riding her horse, she can usually be found sitting in front of her computer with a cat on her lap and her dog at her side.

Senior Year Bites
Fight supernatural crime, it’s what superheros do. Only I’m a vampire, not a superhero. That hasn’t deterred my best friend Steph though, so while I’m trying to survive my last year of high school as a blood-sucking non-hero, she’s dragging me and our other friend around looking for crime. Only there isn’t any, at least not until the murders start.

Buy Links

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Senior-Year-Bites-ebook/dp/B0057PJ752/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1308904096&sr=1-1

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Senior-Year-Bites-ebook/dp/B0057PJ752/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2&s=books&qid=1308904091&sr=8-1

Decadent: http://www.decadentpublishing.com/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=95&products_id=290&osCsid=6c1232251c1e45744bd0b3ee7262f414

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 9, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Thanks so much for having me here Sean 🙂

    Julie

    • July 9, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Glad to have you, Julie! Always welcome on my blog.

  2. July 9, 2011 at 11:19 am

    I enjoy following your journey, Julie.

    Me? The middle isn’t hard for me. (Don’t hate me!) But the beginning. Oh, the beginning is pure agony…

    • July 9, 2011 at 6:09 pm

      That’s ok Devin. I don’t hate you. Lol. After the first page beginnings are super easy. The idea is shiny and new and I just dive in.
      Julie

  3. July 9, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Not sure why my phone posted as dailyrealitycheck. Haven’t used that blog in quite some time. Never fear it is me.
    Julie

  4. July 9, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    I find the beginning and the end hard. The beginning has to ‘sell’ the book to the reader and the end it going to leave a taste in their mouth and hopefully it’s a good one. The middle is cake girl, sit back and enjoy the ride, worrying is for final drafts. 😉

  5. July 9, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    I follow my outline and when I get stuck I sleep on it- no really – ever since my university days, any time I had a writing related problem I would sleep and somehow the solution would always come to me by the time I woke up. It has never failed me. I hope I didn’t just jinx myself.

  6. July 10, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Tammy, Angela, thanks for dropping in. Middles are the hardest for me. Usually by the time I get to the end the hardest part is tearing myself away from the computer as the words pour out. Angela, outline is a dirty word. LOL. Sleeping on it actually works for me too.

    Julie

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

