Home > Guest Posts > Sometimes it Takes Two

Sometimes it Takes Two


-Guest post by Author JEN WYLIE

There are a lot of things that take two people; doing the tango, having a conversation and um…other things. Writing is usually not one of them. Most writers do the story all on their. But…sometimes it takes two. Sometimes two is more FUN.

Sean and I have tossed around the idea of writing something together for a while now. We’ve been bestest friends forever and though we have really different writing styles we’ve both been each others support in our writing careers. (Meaning we kick each others butts a lot)

We are both currently trying to get said butts in gear, which mean writing. Lots of writing. It has been decided we will finally write a short story together, a present for all our friends and readers for Halloween. Awesome right? (You better agree!)

Here is where you all come in. Sean and I have very different writing styles. Sean writes steampunk and vampires. I write fantasy with romance pretty much everywhere. On a good note we each do have our sarcastic sides (okay yes, Sean is way more sarcastic than me). I’ve never written with anyone else before, Sean has with his son. Needless to say, this is going to be interesting. Probably confusing. Possibly chaotic. Definitely a whole lot of fun!

Since you are all most awesome, I’m here to ask for you assistance and opinions. What would you like to see us do? How can we incorporate our different writing styles into something that doesn’t…well…suck? Should we each pick a character to do, or just alternate paragraphs? Should we stick to who we are? (Sean=evil demon, me=sunshine and rainbows).

Now is your time to speak up! Please post your ideas and thoughts, share with your friends! Argue away! Quite possibly we might even listen to you. 😀 (Okay, I’LL listen, Sean maybe not so much)

~~Sunbeams and Rainbows~~

You know the drill:

My website

twitter

goodreads

facebook fan page

Smashwords author page

Amazon Author page

My blog

  1. October 4, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    UMM… Steampunk/Romance with a Halloween Twist??!! It could work!

    Paragraph per paragraph seems like it would keep you both very involved, once you guys get a plot going..

    Not a writer, just a reader!!

    The idea sounds epic. Keep us posted 🙂

    • October 4, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      I’m voting for the para by para too. Just so i can keep changing the direction of the story on her 😀

      Thanks, Dan! We’ll keep you posted

      • October 4, 2011 at 1:36 pm

        You won’t phase me Sean, I’m the queen of plot twists! I just hope you can keep up 😛

    • October 4, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      Oh I like the Steampunk Romance idea! 😀 That would be hot..i more ways than one 😀

  2. October 4, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    Ooo… This sounds awesome. XD

  3. October 4, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I think you let him write a scary halloween story, creepy/gory/bloody all that. THEN you take what he’s written, and INSERT your own take into it. Like taking his evil and turning it on it’s arse so to speak. You cannot modify what’s he’s written, only break it up and intersperse it with your own story/words. Ooooh yeahhhhh! WIN. 🙂

    • October 4, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      That is a really neat idea!

    • October 4, 2011 at 2:07 pm

      Think it would be more fun to insert my commentary on her romance.

      “He caught her eye and pulled him to her chest.”
      “As he thought about his last victim, rotting beneath the floorboards of Antonia’s chamber.”

      • October 4, 2011 at 5:40 pm

        either way, i still think it’d be funny as hell. I’d wanna read it for sure. ;P

  4. October 4, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    You should swap! So Sean gets to write all the mushy stuff! *evil, gleeful laugh* Apart from that, I like the para by para idea – will look forward to reading what you two talented kids come up with 😀

    • October 4, 2011 at 2:02 pm

      Evil laugh indeed!! Though I imagine Sean has some mush hidden inside him somewhere! LOL

      • October 4, 2011 at 2:08 pm

        Thats just mean, Katy. I’d probably blush and stutter a lot. 😉

    • October 4, 2011 at 2:22 pm

      Ooh I dunno Sean – it needn’t be all ‘feelings’, you could have a heaving bosom and some nocturnal stirrings in there too ;p Yup Jen, I’d say he’ll do a fine job!

  5. October 4, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Oh, I’ve got a lot of ideas…but I really don’t think you’ll like the direction I’d take you guys in…lol

    How about a horror piece, something involving clowns or cheerleaders…lol…vampire cheerleaders 😉

    • October 4, 2011 at 6:12 pm

      Share! I’d like to hear them…

      • October 4, 2011 at 8:10 pm

        I have an idea and think I’d be needed to jam my fingers in my ears and go lalalalalalala 😛

  6. October 4, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    I’ve done this before and I think the most fun is each one taking a paragraph. The great thing about it is that one might have a certain idea in their head while the other is thinking something totally abstract.

    Vampires and romance always go together. Maybe you could do a depressed vampire tired of drinking the same blood day in and day out. He decides to change his routine by volunteering at Bingo Night at the local town hall. He spots a seemingly shy gal alone at one of the tables with a single bingo card…

    Anyway… sorry I went off a little there..

    Looking forward to whatever you two come up with! 🙂

    Darlene

    • October 4, 2011 at 6:12 pm

      LOL. Thanks, Darlene 😀

      • October 4, 2011 at 8:09 pm

        LMAO Bingo Night Vampires…. hmmm. 😀 Glad to hear the paragraph by paragraph is a good way to go! Thanks Darlene!

  7. October 5, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Perfect … develop a natural flow … like reading a ping pong match! I can’t wait to see the results!

    • October 5, 2011 at 5:43 pm

      Thanks Michael! I think it will certainly be something to read! 🙂

  8. Hannah Warren
    October 5, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Don’t think too much, just go with the flow. Make it a bull fight and see what happens. The creativity is between you two, not the readers/commenters in this instance. IMHO.

    • October 5, 2011 at 8:43 pm

      True, though we do so love our readers! ~sunbeams and hugs!~

  9. October 5, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    Jen, I think a Vampire Steampunk Fantasy Romance sounds wicked fun – you guys should collaborate….add a little paranormal and you;re all set 😉 I’ve never written with a partner so very interested to see how it works out.

  10. October 7, 2011 at 9:02 am

    (Before I comment I would just like to say that commercial freaks me out) LOL

    As I was reading about your little quandary and the comments, the strangest thing popped into my mind, demonic miming vampires and the deaf girls. (I know bizarre) Hell, no one talks about mimes. They are more terrifying than clowns are and you never see them coming.

    There is a game I play with my children to help their creativity. I have one write two sentences and the other write two more sentences. They have made up some interesting stories and I get see if my warped sense of humor has taken control. (Thankfully not yet)
    Maybe if you start that way the creative fuel will run wild as well as give you ideas for other stories, if you choose to do more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

