Home > Uncategorized > A Very Scary Christmas

A Very Scary Christmas


GREETINGS AND SALUTATIONS DENIZENS OF EARTH!

I don’t know if I told all of you my superexciting news, but I figured now would be a great time to share it. A few months ago I was contacted by the writing group and I was invited to join The Scriborium. They are just starting out but run by a fantastic Author, Kyra Dawson. Needless to say I jumped right on board and within a month I received an invitation that really, really made me smile.

Working closely with Foden Press, The Scriborium decided to put out an anthology for Christmas. Now when everyone thinks of Christmas, they think mistletoe, hot cocoa, and Santa. The Scriborium wanted to do something a little different. Thus was born AVery Scary Christmas. It’s an anthology with a Christmas Theme alright, but with just a dash of HORROR! I couldn’t have been happier that they asked me to partake in the anthology.

Click it to BUY FROM AMAZON.

I had five million other projects in the works, but I knew I wanted to be a part of it. I have this quirk. Most of the time I just sit down and write a story from start to finish, but when asked to write something specific I have a bad habit of coming up with a title and then writing the story around it. I immediately started working on clever puns for my title. I figured the easiest way would be to substitute slay for sleigh. Yeah. Pretty clever huh? I thought so. My other problem is I like to maintain a modicum of originality. Usually when I come up with a clever title I check Amazon to see if it’s ever been used before. I hit the proverbial wall. Check Amazon. Care to take a guess as to how many Christmas themed stories have the word “SLAY” in it. Yeah. I didn’t either. I decided to take my puns elsewhere.

But then I had a bit of inspiration. I’ve always been a fan of every spin on A Christmas Carol you could imagine. To date my favorite is Bill Murry in Scrooged. I FRIGGING LOVED that movie. Then the wheels of the noggin bus went round and round. What if I Horrified my own Scrooge story? HELL YEAH! That only left a catchy title to come up with…

Thus was born The Ghost of Christmas Last.

I didn’t even have to think of it. It just came to be.

Smiling to myself, I put the project on the back burner and worked on the multitude of other things I had going on until the day before the deadline…

Okay, lol. You might not know this about me, but remember that stupid story about the grasshoppers gathering food for the winter? One worked hard all year, the other waited til the last minute? Yep. You guessed it. I’m the stupid grasshopper.

Panicking I did the only thing I could think of. I brewed a pot of coffee, grabbed my laptop, locked my bedroom door, and sat down to write.

I got up only to eat and use the bathroom.

I pumped out 10,000 words and I will say, never before had a story flowed from my fingers more fluidly or faster. It was almost as if the story wrote itself. I had FUN with it. I made the ghost scary as hell and tried my best to make the story touching like its predecessors. Usually when I complete a story I’m so worried that everyone will hate it that I feel a little sick inside. This time, I didn’t care. I smiled when i typed the end. I loved it when I went over it. I wrote the Christmas story I had always wanted to write and I was damn proud. Until I submitted it. Then the stomach flops and butterflies started. LOL. I’m such a dork.

Anyway, I hope you truly love not only my story, but the whole anthology. A bunch of us poured our hearts and souls into it! MUHAHAHAHA.

Be sure to check it out, the wonder folks at Foden Press, and The Scriborium!

 

Here’s a ton of links for your Perusal!

Here’s the first blog POST about A Very Scary Christmas

Be sure to Check us out on FACEBOOK

 

And heres some links for Foden Press! Be sure to check out all their books!

 

 

 


Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 28, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Sounds like an awesome opportunity and anthology… congrats…

  2. November 29, 2011 at 5:48 am

    What an awesome post! I’m glad you joined us! 🙂

  3. November 29, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    If your other work is anything to go by, it’ll be terrific 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

