Home > Uncategorized > Method Writing and Crazy Novelists – Guest Post by Devin O’Branagan

Method Writing and Crazy Novelists – Guest Post by Devin O’Branagan


 

In twenty years of being a professional author I’ve had a lot of strange adventures and created a bunch of crazy characters. The riskiest part of what I do as a novelist is to practice “method writing.” As in “method acting,” I “become” my characters so they come across as realistic. No wonder I am a neurotic mess.

 

I’ve been the Antichrist, a female version of the second coming of Christ, witches, demons, angels, vampires, drag queens, Cher impersonators, tin-foil-hat-wearing conspiracy theorists, and dogs…a whole hell of a lot of dogs. Oddly, I do dogs best. Go figure.

 

In my most recent paranormal thriller, THRESHOLD, I was a tween boy who drowns, has a near-death experience, and returns with a mission. First off, I must mention boys that age sure think about sex a lot, don’t they? It was hard to get past all Cole’s lustful yearning to stay on track and save the world. Besides Cole’s compulsive desire for a hot sixteen-year-old redhead named April, he’s also a die-hard Trekkie. So, of course he sees the after-death tunnel of light as a wormhole, and the divine guide on the other side as the omnipotent Q from the Star Trek franchise. He ponders profound Star Trek episodes in order to work out metaphysical dilemmas. (Thank goodness I had a ten-year-old Trekker on Twitter to consult with about such divine matters.) And Cole sits at the bar of the Desperado Saloon waxing philosophic by the hour, pausing every once in a while to tell the barkeep to, “Hit me again.” Bartender Saul stifles his amusement as he tops off Cole’s frosty mug of root beer.

 

I really enjoyed being Cole, especially since he ends up being the most heroic character I ever created. My own earliest fantasies involved saving the world and because of my writing I’ve been a superhero more times than I could have ever imagined. I love my job.

 

However, I also love being a dog. I really, really do. Perhaps this is something I should discuss in detail with the veterinarian, um, psychiatrist on my next visit.

 

*          *          *

Read the first chapter of THRESHOLD here: http://www.devinwrites.com/bookexcerpts/thresholdchapterone.html

*          *          *

THRESHOLD is available in both print and as an eBook. Find links to where it may be purchased here: http://www.devinwrites.com/threshold.html

*          *          *

Devin O’Branagan writes paranormal thrillers, urban fantasy, paranormal chick lit, comic chick lit, and canine chick lit. Her bestselling urban fantasy, GLORY, was nominated for the 2011 Best Popular Paperback for Young Adults List, sponsored by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) of the American Library Association. She writes a humor column for TAILS Magazine, is a member of the Dog Writers Association of America, and uses her writing projects to support animal rescue. Her publishers have included Simon & Schuster’s Pocket Books, Germany’s Heyne Verlag, and Turkish publisher Dogan Egmont. To learn more about her novels, find out about her latest book giveaway, and join her popular writers’ forum, visit her website at www.DevinWrites.com

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 21, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    So glad to see you here Devin! 🙂 Your humour is always refreshing and inspiring, it’s what makes your stories so wonderful to read.

    • December 22, 2011 at 10:33 am

      Thank you, Tammy. The irony is that if you were to meet me, I’m the most deadly serious person in the room. But enter The Muses, and I am transformed. Go figure…

  2. December 22, 2011 at 6:49 am

    Great guest post!
    It’s amazing what we’ll do to get the characters right. Based on what I’ve read of your work so far, Devin, your method really works! Might start to worry if you start drinking from the dog bowl though…

    • December 22, 2011 at 10:35 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Krista!

      Once I used a large stainless steel dog bowl as a serving dish at one of my parties. (Well, in my defense it was clean and the only bowl large enough for my purposes.) I have never lived that one down.

      My friends call me eccentric. I can’t imagine why…

  3. December 22, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    LOL, love it Devin. I don’t become all my characters, but there are a lot of them that do take over my mind for a while.

    Julie

    • December 22, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      You are probably much more sane than I am. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by, Julie!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

