Home > Blog Tours > Book Review: Zombies Don’t Cry by Rusty Fischer

Book Review: Zombies Don’t Cry by Rusty Fischer


Check it out on Amazon

 

DESCRIPTION:

Genre: Kick ass YA Zombie Story

Price: Too low

Pages: Not enough

Rating: 5 zombie thumbs

Okay, I normally don’t review books especially on my blog. If I read a book and its really good I post a review on amazon. The fact that I’m actually reviewing this book should speak VOLUMES (get it? Made a book joke.) about Zombies Don’t Cry.

I’ll admit it. I’m a vampire nut. I read about them, write about them, and occasionally dream about them. I have never felt anything other than icky about zombies. Don’t like zombie movies. Don’t like zombie books. Don’t like zombie merchandising or action figures. I always thought they were pretty gross and as for fictional characters left little for character development when their only dialogue is, “Brains!”

I hate zombies sooo much, that if the zombie apocalypse ever came to be, hand me a shotgun and a chainsaw and get behind me. I’ll lead the way to safety!

Then I fell in love. Not with a zombie, but a zombie book. I had the opportunity to meet Rusty Fischer at the Spooky Empire Convention in Orlando. What an amazing guy. Personable and just a lot of fun. He gave me a copy of his book and said, “Here. TRY it.” So I did. Thanks be to the gods for Rusty Fischer. He had me hooked from chapter one. He actually makes being a zombie, COOL!

If you’ve ever seen a zombie movie, you know the premise for every zombie book ever written. You know “Tanker truck crashes spilling toxic waste in the mostly deserted town. Redneck comes into contact with said toxic waste, becomes zombie, bites everybody, and by the end the last two survivors of humanity are surrounded by the zombie hordes in a desert somewhere.” That story.

Zombie’s Don’t Cry is NOTHING like that. Rusty pens a tale of wit, humor, edge of your seat excitement and makes you root for the undead! They’re the good guys and I can promise you there isn’t one poorly sealed container of toxic waste anywhere in the story! WOOT WOOT!

So grab your kindle, and throw this one on it. I promise you that you won’t be disappointed especially if you’re into YA Books. It’s a great story from start to finish, doesn’t leave you with a cliffhanger, and has plenty of room to grow for sequential works! (If you read this, I’m serious, Rusty. I want them to go to Disney World next!)

Biography:

A former high school teacher, Rusty Fischer is the author of several supernatural novels for young adults, including Zombies Don’t Cry, Vamplayers and Afterlife Academy. He and his beautiful wife Martha live in sunny Cape Canaveral, Florida.

Visit: www.zombiesdontblog.blogspot.com.

Categories: Blog Tours
  1. January 14, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    I’m reading this now!!! I agree, its full of awesomesauce! Go and buy if you haven’t already. (plus the cover is gorgeous, and Rusty is a super awesome guy!! See.. win win!)

  2. January 14, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    Great review. It sounds like an awesome book! Zombies aren’t normally my thing either, but I’ll have to take a closer look at this. The only zombie book I’ve read is Dead Sexy by Paige Tyler. FAB-U-LOUS!

    • January 14, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      Hi Cara!

      It was. I’ve seen the Dead Sexy book, but haven’t read it yet. I’ll definitely check it out. Thanks!

  3. January 15, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Zombies may not cry but authors can/should/occasionally when this is the first thing they read on a cold Sunday morning! I must have done something right if I can convert a guy like Sean; thanks SO much!!!

    • January 15, 2012 at 9:26 am

      Definitely converted me! Keep em coming my friend.

  4. April 13, 2012 at 3:55 am

    I can’t find the summary of the book anywhere but people are saying it reall good so I of course want to try it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

