Home > Uncategorized > Enough is Enough

Enough is Enough


For those of you who don’t know me, I’m not the most religious person on earth. Do I believe in God? I’m not convinced. Do I believe in the possibility of god? Anything is Possible. Have I lived my life, the best I can without intentionally hurting anyone? Definitely. Do I judge people based on their religion? NEVER.

I very rarely post anything religious or political. Why? Because I don’t want you preaching your beliefs back to me. There are two sides to EVERY story. People seem to forget that when it comes down to religion and politics. They’re right and everyone else is wrong and they would be willing to fight for the death for those beliefs. Admirable? No, it’s stupid. There. I said it.

What everyone has forgotten is that the single most heinous crime that ever can be committed is OPPRESSION. Every single one of us as human beings has our (possibly) God given right to believe in what we want to believe in. The minute you try to force those beliefs on another person, you are engaging in the very thing you feel you were fighting against in the first place. You say we are one nation under God. No, we are one nation under many gods. Now do you think I’m un-patriotic? I’ve got news for you. Our nation’s founding fathers fought against religious Oppression, so why do you think being a religious zealot makes you more patriotic than me?

Do I have a problem saying, “One nation under God,” when I stand up and say the pledge of allegiance? NO. Do I get angry at the person standing next to me when they mumble under their breath during that line? Hell no. Because I don’t want them to say something that they don’t mean or that makes them uncomfortable. Because that is THEIR right. Before You get all high and mighty and preachy at me, I have more news for you. I get just as upset at the atheists who think that line should be stricken from the pledge or have In God We Trust off the Face of our currency. Does it show favoritism by being there? Quite possibly, but it’s been there for hundreds of years and it isn’t HURTING a single person by being there. The same goes for religious Icons on municipal properties. Let cities proudly display Nativity Scenes at Christmas. Do you get to complain? You could. But honestly, wouldn’t you be better serving your beliefs by asking the City to also display an Icon of your religious holiday if it coincides? If the city says, “Absolutely NOT!” THEN you have the right to complain and be upset.

Do I think that any one religion has a place in government? No I do not. Does it have a place in politics? Yes. If a person blathers on about his beliefs as a member of any religion, we should not be offended. If those beliefs are not yours, don’t vote for him or her. If that person makes it into office and tries to govern people by quoting a religious text, then by all means, be offended. You are then being oppressed.

Everyone has the right to believe what they want to believe. Everyone has the right to worship as they want to worship. We have forgotten that on both sides. Hypocrisy seems to be the new craze sweeping our nation on both sides. We need to worry a little less about religion and focus a little more on common sense and humanity.

If you’re going to wear a WWJD bracelet and stop people from being happy when they are doing NOTHING to harm ANYONE else because you don’t think its right…then I have news for you. You are the problem of what is REALLY wrong with this country.

What Would Jesus Do? I’m not a theologian, but I’m PRETTY sure Jesus didn’t walk around being a bigoted, hateful asshole. He seemed to be a pretty tolerant guy, from what I’ve read. Maybe you should stop using the words, “The bible says,” when you are dictating to everyone what YOU believe in. If you swore to uphold the Constitution of the United States of America, then do so. I’m pretty sure there is nothing in that document governing same sex marriages, sexual preference, birth control, or anything like that in there. STOP FORCING YOUR BELIEFS ON PEOPLE AND DO YOUR JOB.

I’m sure this little glimpse into the mind of Sean will get me unfollowed by the more religious personages of my friends and family. Oh well. You see, this is what’s known as the freedom of speech. This IS UPHELD by the constitution of the United States. I’ve said it. Do I get to MAKE YOU BELIEVE in what I have just said? No. Do i get to turn this little corner of my heart into a law that will affect the lives of millions? No. Are you starting to get the picture on how this works? I hope to all the religious deities out there that you do.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 11, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Thank you for saying it. 😀

  2. doe965
    May 11, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    Personally, I do not speak with others about religion or politics. People are going to believe what they want to believe regardless if they are right or wrong. I do not care for hypocrites or most politicians due to their self-righteous attitudes. I have my core beliefs and the only people I impose them on are my children. (At least until they are old enough to formulate their own opinions and beliefs) Everyone is allowed to have a voice and if I don’t care for what he has to say I don’t listen. It is sad that we, as a nation, have become so politically correct that we have forgotten how to think or speak for ourselves.

  3. May 11, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    You are absolutely right. I don’t want a fight and that’s why I don’t get political on my page. I agonize for hours about even doing the Pagan Blog Project; thinking I would alienate readers. But I figure if people refuse to read my books because “Ew, she’s Pagan” then it’s their loss. 🙂

  4. May 11, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    What I don’t like is these people screaming that God doesn’t like this, or God doesn’t like that. Last time I checked, God had a list of ten things he didn’t like, and not wanting Gays and Lesbians to marry, or abortion or any of that other shit, wasn’t on the list.

  5. Chris Redding
    May 11, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    Woot! Well said.

  6. Texanne
    May 11, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    You are a brave little sweetie. I do believe in God, but He’s never said to me, “Tex, you’ve got to do something about those gays.” If She said it, I missed it. I’m NOT comfortable with politicians talking about religion. The Constitution is enough, specially if you hook it up to The Golden Rule, which occurs in every belief system I’ve ever heard of.

    You laid out your arguments well. You made sense. Rare thing these days. :)TX

  7. Scott
    May 14, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    I appreciate your thoughts on this issue, Sean, and I can’t find anything to disagree with. It bothers me that there is so much disinformation out there that people buy into so easily. I see it with health care a lot. People will come out and say things that are so wrong, yet they make the statements like it is a truth handed down from God. (I guess, in a way, it has been exactly that, for some of them…) I try to refrain discussing politics and religion but find that I have to occasionally point out untruths, especially about health care, or at least give someone another angle to look at it from. (Whether they choose to do so or not is up to them…)

    BTW, I will miss you and the other Echelon authors at Printer’s Row in Chicago, I’m sorry to say. (We’ll actually be switching places with you…)

  8. June 4, 2012 at 10:49 am

    There are beliefs and morals and then there is religion. If you have a look at any religion you will find common denominators that make up what we as humanity should incorporate into our lives to help make the world a better place.
    I happen to be in favour of speaking of religion as a way of education but also don’t like someone trying to get me to convert to a single religion – religion in governments have proven to be the biggest weapons of destruction. IMHO 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

