Home > Uncategorized > Heeeeeeere’s JENNY!

Heeeeeeere’s JENNY!


Greetings and salumatations denizenz of Earth. Tis I, your fearless world conqueror here to share what he loves…

INTERVIEWING AWESOMESAUCE WRITERS!!!!

MUHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Today’s guest is none other than JENNY HILBORNE. I met Jenny a few years ago and we became good friends through social media. She even forgave me when I accidentally called her Jill one time on twitter. Talk about embarrassing! Whew! Anyhoo, Jenny is here to tell you a little bit about a fantastical new Murder Mystery she penned, HIDE AND SEEK. I do so hope you will download it, read it, and love it, and post glorious reviews about it. You do recall the punishment for displeasing me right? I will find your house and pump JUSTIN BIEBER music into the very foundation of your house if you fail me!

With that said, ON WITH THE INTERROGATION…er…I mean…INTERVIEW!

VISIT HER WEBSITE, DAMN IT!

1. I love it when I see new works out from you. Can you tell us a little about your newest without giving away the story?
It starts with a game and ends with a murder. The inspiration for Hide and Seek comes from a creepier version of the game I played in my early teens out in the grounds of an English manor house.

2. By far your best cover. What was the inspiration behind it?
I wanted the cover to convey the frightening mood of the story, the fear of being followed or chased, always looking over your shoulder. Patty Henderson of http://www.boulevardphotografica.yolasite.com/ captured it perfectly. 
3. You mainly stick to the murder and mystery niche, have you ever thought of trying another genre? Which would be your choice?
I’ve thought about it, and maybe I’ll try it. I’d probably go for horror, but without the bloody guts and gore. 
4. Could you tell us a little bit about your research process?
I ask lots of questions and I have several friends in law enforcement who answer most of them for me. The San Francisco settings come from my visits there. The rest is on-line research and library reference materials. 
5. What was your favorite (not yours) book of all time. Did it inspire you to become a writer?
I like too many books to have a favorite. I always loved to write. Sidney Sheldon’s books inspired me to get started on my first manuscript, and an English professor encouraged me to try for publication.
6. As an American transplant, do you see things differently when it comes to stories? Do you think it gives you an edge as a writer in any way?
I think my ex-pat status hinders me more than it helps. I’ve forgotten which are the Brit and US version of certain spellings and I often stick a “U” and extra “L” (and other things) where they don’t belong.
7. Of all the characters that you’ve written, who is your favorite? Why?
My favorite is Alex from Madness and Murder. She’s shared a lot of my own real-life experiences and she’s a survivor.
8. What’s the hardest part about writing murder mysteries?
As I’m a “panster” the ending is usually the hardest for me. I don’t have my novel all mapped out in advance and write as I go. The end has to be deserving and fitting for the characters and satisfy the readers. I never want to leave anyone disappointed.
9. Did you have any challenges writing your latest in terms of research, story, or characters?
Yes. The story and characters in Hide and Seek challenged me more than the first two books. I find the more I write, the harder it becomes. The challenge is in crating new suspense and keeping it fresh and unexpected. Writers have their own style. If you read enough of a writer’s work, you notice the style and the books can feel “samey.” The challenge for me is to avoid too much commonality between books. I don’t want my stories to be predictable.
10. What can we expect next from the great Jenny Hilborne???
I’m heading back to my homeland soon to research and write my 4th mystery, which takes place in Oxfordshire, England. As much as I love San Francisco, I’m excited about the new setting for this mystery.
Flash/fun round
1. You’re in a chinese restaurant, without looking at the menu what do you order?
Chicken chow mein 
2. Favorite type of pet?
Dog
3. If you were to spend the rest of your life painted another color, what would you chose?
Yellow or white.
4. Lefty or righty and would you switch if you could?
Lefty. I wouldn’t switch.
5. Trapped on a desert island, name three non survival items you would bring
A book (duh), chocolate, toothbrush.
6. iphone or droid?
Droid
7. favorite alcoholic beverage
Wine
8. What’s your favorite stuffed animal
a well-fed dog 🙂
9. You get to pick a nickname that will be used for the rest of your life…what is it?
Your Highness (sorry, I’m watching the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and I couldn’t think of anything else)
10. Worst thing you ever did….
When I was 16 or 17, a group of mods descended on our school for a showdown with the rockers. The rockers had to offload their knives and chains before they got caught, so they picked the least likely-looking suspect to take them off the grounds – moi. I walked home with their arsenal. Doubt anyone would have defended me if I’d got caught.

BUY BUY BUY BUY BUY!!!!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 10, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    Love love love this cover! Jenny, congrats! I too fell in love with Sidney Sheldon – and devoured all his books at a young age. He influenced me too. How exciting to set a new book in your homeland. Laughing over the worst thing you ever did! :)Wishing you success with Hide and Seek.

  2. June 10, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks, Donna. I think the walk home with all those weapons started my curiosity with the darker side of life 🙂

  3. June 10, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    Great interrogation…er, interview, Sean. Sorry. I really liked your questions. Often times, the questions don’t fit the subject, but it was clear that you knew one another, and that made it all the more fun for a reader. *waves to Jenny* For fear of displeasing anyone, I will surf right over to the website and investigate further.
    You two have a great week.

    -Jimmy

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

